How to Delete Your Facebook Account

How to Delete Your Facebook Account - News - News

Facebook was the go-to social networking Website for many back in the day. All of our friends were on it and despite its limited features, it was fun. But the landscape has changed today. Facebook is surrounded by privacy issues and scandals, and despite its large user base, not many people use it that often. Other platforms like Instagram or TikTok have become more prominent. If you’ve made up your mind and are ready to leave the platform once and for all, keep reading as we show you the proper way to back up your data and delete your account on Facebook.

Before we dive into the process of deleting your account from Facebook, you’ll have to take care of a few things. This includes backing up and retrieving your data and removing third-party access from your Facebook account. Let’s take a look at them.

The first step before you delete your account is to  and download it onto your computer or mobile device. This will let you hold on to those precious status updates, photos, videos, messages, friend lists, and everything else on Facebook, so think of this as a memory bank for your social media life. Follow these steps to download your Facebook data.

Once you have downloaded all of your necessary data, it is time to disconnect third-party apps that you used on Facebook to sign up. This step is important because over 50 million user accounts have been hacked as reports suggest that , so it’s safe to disconnect them and update their login credentials.

Note that your data in those apps might get reset, so you might want to sign up with an email address for those apps and link your data.

Now that we have wrapped up the prerequisites, it is time that we look into the thing that you came here for. Just follow the steps below to completely delete Facebook.

We would also recommend you clear the browser cache and history so all web apps logged in using your Facebook account will be automatically logged out.

That’s how you can delete your Facebook account with ease! These steps will “initiate” the process of deletion but your profile on Mark Zuckerberg’s wonderful creation won’t be removed instantly.

You’ll have 30 days to log in again to your account in case you change your mind. After that, the deletion process will begin and there will be no way to reclaim your account. It means you’ll need to be patient and try to stay away from social media for a couple of weeks.

In case you are tired of constant message notifications, here is an in-depth guide to . While Facebook used to be a likable social platform in its heyday, its popularity has without a doubt gone down as the platform grew and became available to the masses. But that is true for every Website and social media platform. Just look at Reddit nowadays.

If you found the steps mentioned in this guide useful, then do share with us your reason for quitting Facebook in the comments below.